Meet the Critters: Karmann

There comes a time in every dog steward's life where they cannot escape the urge to put flowers on the head of their charge.

There comes a time in every dog steward’s life where they cannot escape the urge to put flowers on the head of their charge.

I was introducing the critters in chronological order of their acquisition and it is no coincidence that I stopped entirely at Karmann’s turn. The technical stuff is easy: she’s a rescue from a small, desperate shelter in rural southeastern Georgia who spent the entirety of her inaugural 45 minute car ride on my lap (as I drove), was named for a car, and used to roll over and pee on herself when she saw a lawnmower or a 10 year old on a skateboard.

But to *really* introduce Karmann is, in many ways, an impossibility. She came into my life quite intentionally, caused me to immediately question my desire to have a dog, and ultimately became the single calming, focusing entity in my life at a time when I very badly needed it. People often talk about “Heart Dogs” or Once-in-a-Lifetime Dogs and she is mine and, ultimately, that is all the introduction that could possibly do her justice.

Leave a Reply

